RB Engine Rebuilds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RB Engine Rebuilds

I decided to start this thread for input.

I'm going to start transitioning into rebuilding piston engines, and I happen to have an abundance of RB25 Cores. I'm curious to what one would pay for various levels of rebuild. And what sorts of upgrades are common. I do this entirely as a hobby, and not as a 'for profit' business. There would be a warranty, as with any work I do I stand by it.

Background to myself is I am a professional Heavy Equipment Technician. I build and maintain very large, very expensive engines for the sorts of companies who only give you one crack at it. For the last 10 years as a hobby I have been building rotary engines with great success, for all sorts of applications. I've even done the primary assembly on a Ferrari 348 Engine (Im a Ferrari guy at heart). I've delved into diesel performance but, honestly, there isn't much magic to that.

I spend my springtime doing troubleshooting and tuneups for Nissan and Mazda guys, and on rare occasion repairs (more so on the rotary side of things).

Comment

cool, I'm not in the market for a rebuild but seems there is a need for people who know how do them properly. If you can do a rotary with success then a rb26 shouldn't be too hard. Do you do your own machining and flow testing?
      BNR32, AE86, MX73(project for sale), RN130

Comment

Best Brands, Best Prices, Best Service. We stock parts from Tomei, Greddy, HKS, Project Mu, Nitto, Hypertune, Radium, Turbosmart, Haltech and more!

for an rb26 head build, I paid:
        600 for setting valve clearances and assembly
        125 for disassembly and cleaning
        648 for a 5 angle cut

and a bunch more for parts and porting
        oh hai!

Comment