No announcement yet.

"kissed" a curb, could use some advice.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "kissed" a curb, could use some advice.

Well it hasnt taken me long Smashed a curb last night and could use some input on what i do. Car is a 1999 r34 GTT Both front and back passenger side wheels got beat up, but more importantly. Both lower control arms (front and back) have bent, a long with the tie rods. In the rear the subframe has a minor looking bend right where the lower control arm attaches to it behind the wheel. Now with that being said. I want to keep the car, so fixing this is my goal. I have full insurance, including collision, so do i bother with going to my insurance, or do i order some parts, fix what is visually broken and go from there? Im no mechanic but i know how to turn a wrench. Any and all advice is welcome.

Thanks

Put on chassis alignment machine and make sure the chassis is straight. If straight, then replace the broken parts.

From what I understand, the monoque chassis is designed to crumble in a crash to absorb the energy of the crash, but make it isn't bent a bit around where the subframe mounts to chassis.
    Last edited by Skym; 09-20-2014, 07:44 PM.
    RESPONSE MONSTER

The most epic signature ever "epic".

Comment

wtf were you doing to hit both wheels like that?
      Currently rollin' in a 1997 Nissan 240sx こうき

The artist formally known as Cory Scheuer

Comment

That sus man. I hope you get the kinks worked out. You just have to make a game plan and line up your resources.

Comment

Originally posted by h4X6 View Post
          wtf were you doing to hit both wheels like that?
          Having a wee bit too much fun methinks....

Jon.
          Why don't you come over to MySpace and Twitter my Yahoo untill I Google all over your Facebook.

1990 GTR Drag Special T88H34D 11.24 @ 127.55mph at only 1.2bar...... officially. SOLD

Comment

Originally posted by Dragon Humper View Post

Jon.