Manifold building adventure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manifold building adventure

So after a while of looking around at manifold options I've decided to just build my own. You can all watch it as it progresses. I plan to span this out over ~1 or 2 months. I'm no professional fabricator but I enjoy it. I'll be mounting my 6265 billet to this and beating it on the track come spring.

The plan:
    T3 open w/6 into 1 merge
    1.5'' ID sch40 steel 1.25 inch pipe
    Forward and angled position
    1.75'' ID wastegate port

This weekend I got started. I have the engine flange and my t3 flange. I started with the collector. I pondered the design in the back of my head for a few weeks prior. I didn't want to do a "round" 6 into 1 because they seem to give you a lot less clearance for whatever cylinders it is mounted close to. Also welding the last two runners with a round style collector looks like an uber pain.

So what I choose is to make two 3-1's and then I'll make an angled cut in both and merge those (if that makes any sense...)

Off we go.

My old, terrible, awful manifold with the new flange supplied by Mazworx laying on top. Pictured below is my 5/8'' aluminum surface I will bolt the engine flange to as I weld it.

Start with 6 fresh cuts of pipe.

Cut in the jig. Make first cut, then rotate for the second (yes I realize this is PVC, it was for the test cuts. Just to give an idea)

The result

If you measured 10 times and cut once, you will get something like this.

Two finished:

A rough idea of where I'm going. I will "merge" these two together and make one collector. The end runners will be at a fairly steep angle but I think that will give me a good opportunity to make runners 1&6 longer.

Thanks for looking. I'll update as I go.

I will be watching this thread with great interest! Good work. Where'd you get the pipe?

You wouldnt happen to have another flange kicking around youre willing to sell would you ?