Working for a Tuner shop and/or race team

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working for a Tuner shop and/or race team

Long story short. I live sleep and breath cars, all the time. I'm working on becoming a mechanic but I've made the decision that that isn't enough. I don't want to be changing oil on family cars, I want to be working on high end race built cars, making things go fast and push the limits kinda thing.

So I've come to the motor sports section to see if anyone who works/know someone who works in this line of work. I understand it would be extremly hard to even find a job let alone get a job, but I know once I found the job I'd love work each and every day. I spend probably 80% of my time off in the shop now as is, so I'd love to be working in one as well.

hey,

Im not a certified mechanic, I was a university student who owned a GTR for one year when I went to a local tuner shop and begged them to let me come by the shop, and help them work on cars and engines so that I could learn more about it.

the owner of the shop explained that he was only doing basic work on cars and that he thought my passion would be wasted there, so he gave me a phone number of another guy to contact and talk to.

I called and this new guy "Mark" up and he invited me over, he explained that his race-designs company was essentially only him, but if I wanted to come by and help out, I would surely learn a thing or 2.

being in school full time I ended up going twice a week from 6am to 4pm for a period of 3 months. we put in a lot of hours together, his main operation was rebuilding coil-overs, you may know the brand "DMS Suspension"....

Most of what he does is centered around rally racing, most of what we did was as support to the subaru rally Canadian race team, so we were always rebuilding sets of shocks for them. we also did a lot of Evo's too.