X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Identifying Transmission on R32GTR

Sup guys,

So I have been doing some research and correct me if I'm wrong:

R32 GTRs came with either push or pull type clutch systems depending on the year, early models were push type and late models were pull type
    R33 and R34 GTRs all came with pull type clutches

The easiest way to tell between a push type and pull type clutch is to take a look at the gearbox. If the clutch slave cylinder is infront of the fork, it is push. If the slave cylinder is behind the fork then it is pull (reference being the front and back of the car itself).

I have been searching around (and maybe I'm not that good at it) but I could not find a definitive answer regarding identification using a number somewhere on the transmission. Can anybody tell me the location of the number to use?

OK, now, what I know about my car:

1994 Skyline GTR (late model, SHOULD be pull type)
    I have never opened up the gearbox, but the clutch pedal in the car does not feel stock. It's a bit tougher than stock, but is easy to drive even in traffic. I'm thinking maybe stage 2 sprung. Not steel as I have smelt it burn before.
    I look at the transmission and the slave cylinder is infront of the fork, indicating that it is a push type. Confusion ensues.

So my clutch has recently started slipping and I'm looking into getting a new one, but obviously don't want to buy the wrong type. The car is street driven so I would like something not so harsh, but I have recently upgraded to nismo N1 turbos and now running 21psi of boost so something able to handle that and a bit beyond. I was thinking maybe the Nismo Copper Mix Competition Twin Plate. Before I make any commitment, I just wanted to be sure of everything.

Do I have an old R32 push type transmission installed?
    Do I have an R32 pull type transmission that has been converted to push?
    Do I have an R33/34 transmission that has been converted to push?