Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

blew turbo seals because too short of an exhaust? possible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• blew turbo seals because too short of an exhaust? possible?

so ive been doing some work to my car since its been off the road for a month now, and i thought it would be a good idea if i tried to start it up see if i screwed up anything and got it running and let it idle for a bit and then gave it 1 good rev and boom intercooler piping came appart and pooring blue smoke and i turn off the motor and looked at the turbo with the pipes off and it was covered in oil. well not the cold side fan, but the cold side to FMIC. and oil was spraying out the end of the exhaust...

now this is my first time blowing up a turbo, and i just heard today that if their wasnt enough back pressure it could of blown the seals in the turbo... and i only had my dump pipe, down pipe, test pipe... is that really too short and have the possibility of causing this to happen? im getting some work done on my kakimoto 3.5 cat back, and when i was testing it i didnt have the cat back on...

let me know what you think... this scares me. if its true than good to know thats how i blew the turbo, if thats not likely then i wonder how i blew the turbo...
    89 r32 sedan

i really doubt thats the case. i have never heard that before and have driven turbod hondas open downpipe for months on end with no problems. cars even get dyno'd open downpipe as long as they can get a good enough sniffer reading
    1991 Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R: 710whp 521 ft/lbs 27.5psi 11.8 @126mph low boost

Comment

I say its more then likely your turbo was just on its way out. Possibly didnt like it warm up/ oil starvation on the turbo maybe when you gave it some revs.
      Traction is optional, so are zipties

92 Gtst/Silver bullet

Comment